Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

It is a visible fact in all parts of the world today that criminals tend to indulge themselves in more crimes after they have been penalized for the very first time. In this essay I will discuss the above problem and some solutions that can be considered in overcoming it.

Firstly, many criminals commit more crimes after being punished for the first time for reasons such as the punishments are too lenient than the crime and exposure to intermingle with various criminals when in prison. If a criminal had received a punishment that is too light in scale than the gravity of the crime that he has commited, then that criminal has less opportunity to learn a lesson out of it, resulting him to tend towards more crimes. For example, a drug trafficker if caught for the first time, would most of the time be released to the society after being imprisoned for a short time. Thus he will again indulge in doing the same again and again. Also if a first time criminal while in jail has the chance to intermingle with all the other minor and major criminals, then there's more space and possibility of him learning ways and means of commiting crimes by sharing views and opinions of them. Thus he will eventually commit more crimes once he has the opportunity to do so.

As solutions to the aforesaid situation, establishing a serious, standard scale of punishments to suit the relevant crime and establishing a separation method to separate out the criminals inside the prison can be suggested. If the scale of punishments is made too tough then the first time offenders would not go for commiting crimes for a second time. For example, if the punishment for a rapist is upgraded to death sentence, then there'll be no second chance for such criminals to do the same or other ever again. Apart from that, establishing separate cubicals for minor and major criminals separately without letting them space to intermingle with each other would result in reduced communication among them, so that crime-knowledge sharing is also reduced.

In conclusion, the fact that many criminals tend to commit more crimes after being punished for the first time, can be adressed by taking necessary steps to establish a standard punishment scale and exercising a seperation mechanism for criminals inside prison.