Many parents believe that when their children read book for entertainment, they are just wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Book reading has been an integral part of our culture. Majority of the parents are of the opinion that their kids should not read fictional content as it results into futile expenditure of time, whereas they should invest more time reading factual or curriculum related materials. In my opinion, both genre of the book has their importance in an overall development of a child and it must be an amalgamation of stories as well as subjuct books.

To begin with, most of the children develop their taste towards book reading in their early age and usually its content is fictional stories, to which they bond well. This habit eventually helps them in developing and strengthening their reading and imaginative skills which last forever. Now-a-days, entertainment is not limited to comics, however children are inquisitive to know about their culture, legacy and mythology so that they can connect with their roots. According to research by Poland University, kids who started reading in early age had higher neural firing in both side of their brain which aids in enhancing their learning capacity.

On the flip side, education is an indispensable part of a child's life in order to attain academic excellence. |Presently, schools are customizing their courses which helps them in structuring their thoughts, thereby organizing their life. It has been scientifically proven that humans can absorb more information in their childhood, which amplifies their cognitive thinking. As per British Journal, children who attended kindergarten has higher cognitive functioning of their brain.

To conclude, it is like hand in glove situation where students must be reading imaginary as well as course books for developing imaginative and logical thinking leading to overall mental development.