Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. Do you agree?

Holidays are enjoyed by all. It is been long debated whether companies should reward their workers with extended holidays. I completely agree with this ideology of rewarding workforce with longer paid holidays to reduce their stress an increase their motivation for enhanced productivity.

To begin with, managers, Now-a-days, are quite demanding in terms of employee’s productivity which often leads to stress, thereby elevating levels of stress hormone, Cortisol. It has been observed that a stressed human being is not able to perform his duties efficiently which eventually incur more time in task completion. So, companies must award their workforce with longer leaves to relax their nerves. An apt example will be of SAP’s CEO, who had a tight schedule wherein he used to plunge in 18 hours towards work followed by 2 hours of physical activity and, only, 4 hours of sleep. His stringent routine for extended duration raised cortisol level in the body which ultimately resulted in his untimely death.

Additionally, there are many jobs which are physically demanding such as military services, firefighting, miners and lots more. They too need longer holidays to de-stress their body. Government provided them with 2 months of paid holidays in a calendar year to reduce work pressure and stress. Thus vitalizing their body and motivating their mind.

Extended holidays not only assist in reduction of stress levels but it also helps in motivating an individual to provide his undivided best. A motivated workforce is more productive and comes up with agile ways of working. Needless to mention, they elevate overall enthusiasm among peers and make them passionate towards their work. As per a recent survey, people prefer to work with companies that provide flexible working hours and opportunity for longer holidays.

To summarize, employers must not pressurizes their employees as it results in reduced productivity, however they must reward them with longer paid holidays there by improving their productivity.