Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Books are mirror of human personality, in other words we become what we read as it has great influence on our mental growth.There are many guardians who assert that children must read only curriculum subjective books, as reading for pleasure is wastage of time and pupil gain nothing from it. I do not agree with notion and believe that children must allowed to read whatever they want as it will be helpful in developing numerous personality traits among them.

Considering the view of people who advocate that reading for entertainment is wastage of time. They are not analyzing the situation properly. Reading is useful in cultivating many skills. One of the predominate benefit of reading is in depth knowledge of the language. For instance, it is scientifically proven that students who read books other than academic develop better understanding of language and its literature, as things which are done with pleasure develops better interest and understanding. In addition, reading for entertainment can also provide successful career for many. For example, many leading newspaper recruit the people who can critically review their articles before publication, and people with efficient reading skill can easily start their career with this companies.Therefore, reading for pleasure is beneficial and must be promoted.

Moreover, if children are forced to read only academics books they will feel that as burden and try to run away from this. In other words, its basic human nature every body enjoys their freedom and nobody likes to be controlled. Undoubtedly, educational books are great source of knowledge and pupil's must read them, but rather than forcing parents should try to develop the interest of their child, and educational books should be published colorful, so that it become eye catching for the juvenile and they enjoy reading them. For example, many schools have started providing picture books to the students.

Benefits of education can only be ripe with concentration and interest in learning, not by forcefully implementing it on young minds. Thus, it clearly demonstrates that forcing to read particular books is not the effective way of learning.

In conclusion, reading is hobby for many, and reading for entertainment is not a ill practice. Academic books are great source of knowledge, but it should be in motivating way not by forcing on pupil's. In believe, that children must allowed to read whatever they want, because they will definitely learn some thing from it.