Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious educational books.

What is your opinion about this?

Knowledge gained in any form is never wasted. It is commonly believed by guardians that children should spend their time reading textbooks related to their course rather than wasting time on comics or other similar books. However, according to me, parents should focus on the overall development of their child because to compete in this competitive world one not only need academic knowledge but should be aware of the current affairs and the various trends prevailing in the market.

To begin with, enjoyable books can lead to the overall cognitive development of the child. Firstly, these books contain colorful pictures which can help foster the creativity of the child. Secondly, books containing puzzles or riddles can help develop the intellectual power of the child, most importantly, it can improve the thinking ability. Thirdly, reading novels and articles can benefit the child to get a grip of the language and increase its vocab. Lastly, reading books containing stories with some aim can help imprint the moral values in the child while they are still in their childhood phase. To illustrate with an example, a recent study by the “Education and Development” authority showed that 50% of the children who spent their leisure time reading the entertainment or story books were more equipped to demonstrate imaginative thoughts and moral values than those who only focused on curriculum books.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that curriculum books hold equal importance. As in this contemporary world, everyone is running behind money and quality of life, it is necessary to get a job to make a living. Thus, one needs to acquire knowledge from the course book to pursue the job of his dream. In addition to this, an educated person holds a respectful status in society. Furthermore, a person who is well educated and can contribute to the development of the nation is a responsible citizen. For instance, a student pursuing a career in medicine should be dedicated towards his studies as his profession requires a tremendous amount of dedication and hard work and the contribution he will make towards the growth of the society cannot be overstated.

To conclude, both sides have their own advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, to help a child stand confidently in the world, he should get an opportunity to learn each and every aspect of life rather than focusing only on the academic front.