Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Long ago bicycles were the popular means of transportation but during the past decade's use of bicycles have been reduced by cars and motorbikes due to a plethora of reasons. However, there are various methods which could be used to encourage the use of bicycles again globally.

Firstly people living in countries with large geographical boundaries prefer to commute by cars or motorcycles as it can cover distances faster and reduce travel time. Additionally, it is convenient to carry goods in a car rather than a cycle. For instance, in India, since there are huge distances between cities hence it becomes more convenient to travel by car rather than a bicycle. Secondly, there are safety concerns with bicycles as there are high chances for a cyclist to meet an accident due to rash driving by fellow commuters. For instance, in India last year around 200 cyclists was reported injured in the various accident on roads.

Although using a bicycle is healthy and environmental friendly however it cannot be considered a convenient and safest means of transport. Hence the government should take necessary steps which include the construction of separate cycling lanes which ensures safety for cyclist. For instance, in many developed countries like Singapore, there are separate cycling lanes for the use of bicycles. Similarly providing secure parking facilities will also encourage the use of bicycles. Additionally, governments should enforce a restriction on ownership of cars and increase fuel prices which discourages the use of cars. Finally, awareness campaigns from the government to educate people on the benefits of using bicycles for their health as well as the environment can also bring changes in people perception towards the use of a bicycle.

To conclude it is evident that government across the globe will have a major role to play in order to increase the use of bicycle among people. This would further lead to a healthier environment and nation.