Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

There is a raging debate in many countries to encourage the use of bicycles as it not only reduces pollution but also improves health. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on the reasons for it being an unpopular mode of commutation in many countries and additionally highlight some steps which can be used to promote the use of bicycle among masses.

Firstly people living in countries with large geographical boundaries prefer to commute by cars or motorcycles as it can cover distances faster and reduce travel time. For instance, in India, since there are huge distances between cities hence it becomes more convenient to travel by car rather than a bicycle. Secondly, the luxury and comfort which a person can get while travelling by car while covering several hundred miles cannot be achieved by a bicycle.

Although using a bicycle is healthy and environmental friendly however it cannot be used for travelling a longer distance. Hence the use of bicycles needs to be encouraged by the government as the only means of transport within the city as the distances are usually shorter and it will also help to tackle ever-increasing traffic congestion and pollution problems. Additionally, it will also enable the masses to stay healthier. For instance governments in Singapore and the Netherlands have enforced laws to use the bicycle for commutation from office to home in peak hours. As per the recent survey was done by the Singapore Department of Health Science, this has brought down the pollution levels by 20% as compared to the previous year.

Similar methods need to be followed by the other countries where they can give free bicycles to the domestic population encourage to use bicycles within the city. Additionally, the government should hold bicycle racing events in different cities and encourage people participation. Lastly, governments globally should follow the footsteps of countries like Singapore and the Netherlands where strict laws are enforced for the use of bicycles within the city in peak hours.