Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

In many countries, many students are evaluated their academic performance through pen and paper examinations. these exams may be efficient and economic ways to analyze student’s skills and their abilities because they are easily measured by number and can be compared with others. however, I do not believe this is the best way to assess educational achievement of students.

Firstly, it is difficult to measure academic achievement of overall subjects through exam. there are some subjects which focus on opinions and emotions of each students. The example can be an art and music class. The exam will evaluate these subjects based on what the students know about them, but their actual performances or achievements cannot be measured fairly through exam. From my experience, one of my friends on high school was good at memorizing the information of the drawings. he memorized who drew it, when it was drew, and which museum is keeping it. however, he did not really appreciate them. Even though he got a good mark on art, he does not enjoy it after graduating high school. Therefore, I think there are some subjects which are difficult to be measured through an exam.

Secondly, activities or exercises can be better tools for teachers to understand student’s individual goal. If teachers keep an eye on each student through activities and exercise, they would understand students better than through paper exam. Also, teachers can find out each student’s goal and what they are doing to achieve them. this can be measured through activities and exercises.

In conclusion, I believe that the exam is not the best way to assess academic achievement of students due to the limited assessment of some subject and I’m sure that activities or exercises should be taken into consideration for student’s assessment.