Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

It is true that local people consider foreign visitors as a bad thing for their country. There are a number of reasons behind this point of view and several solutions should be proposed to change these oppositional attitudes.

There are two primary reasons why people often take into account that international tourism are causes of their problems. One reason is that it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices because tourists may be insensitive towards the feelings of local residents. For example, some western tourists visiting Temples in Asian countries may wear unsuitable clothing, which has a bad effect on local people’s region. Another reason is that tourists often pollute or litter beautiful spots and several famous landscapes. For instance, in Vietnam, some beaches such as Cua Lo, Sam Son, etc. have been spoiled by this lack of respect for the local environment.

However, measures must be taken by governments and international bodies to change negative attitudes towards tourists. Firstly, international tourism often spend money in shops and restaurants, which creates an unquestionable economic benefits for local people. This should be more widely promoted through official media to enhance local residents’ perspectives about global visitors. At the same time, tourist agencies should urge visitors to respect the local customs and culture of their hosts. Secondly, local authorities must levy tax environment to foreign visitors and strictly fine tourism who discharge waste to the environment. In addition, the government may restrict the number of people who can visit their country in a year and carefully inspect visitors to make sure that they will not do anything that harm the local environment.

In conclusion, only by addressing the concerns of local people will negative attitudes to international tourism be changed