Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that pupils should not be bombarded with a lot of homework. While there some are strong arguments against the setting of homework. I still believe that homework play a pivotal role in students’ life.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people argue that homework is an unnecessary burden for children. Firstly, there is evidence that homework does nothing to improve educational outcomes. For example, country such as Finland, where school children are not given homework, always on top of international education table and outperform countries where setting homework is the norm. Secondly, children have to cover a lot of ground when they are at school, so after-school time is when they need to blow off some steam. It is recognized that extra activities time are as beneficial as study time in term of brain development.

On the other hand, I support the idea that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. First of all, we are living in the fast-changing era, parents are too busy to spend time with children, so homework is a good way to keep children away from using mobile phone or playing video games. Another reason is that, the main benefit of homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving, as children have to do their tasks alone with their own pace. Therefore, school children must apply the knowledge that they have learnt from school. From my perspective, it is important for children to develop an independent study habit because this prepares them to work alone as adult.

In conclusion, although homework have some drawbacks, I think that its benefits still outweigh them in the long term.