Many people believe that it’s better to learn something in a group rather than individually. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that a group-level cognition is effective than study in isolation. This essay completely agrees with this viewpoint. Firstly, this essay will discuss how the elements of teamwork can be adopted by a group learning and finally, discuss how it improves the mental ability of an individual member in a study group.

Firstly, team spirit is developed when the number of individuals collectively research and analyze the ideas. As a result, the productivity of a group is increased and they learn to deliver a quality of the outcome in a stipulated time frame as a team. Also, a group can utilize the skill-expertise of an individual member in a group. Any large and complex project in a software company is a prime example of this, where a programmer, a designer and a tester work in unison by using different skill-sets to meet a common objective.

Lastly, activities performed in a group-context enable individuals to obtain information that they cannot acquire in isolation. This is because peer feedback allows individuals to refine their understanding of concepts and to also learn new information from other members in the study group. For example, a study by The British Institute for Learning found that, if individuals participated in study groups, they had a far more objective and sophisticated understanding of a topic than learners who were not part of study groups. Therefore, it is certainly the case that learning in a group improves an individual’s mental abilities.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by writing strongly in favour that group learning is efficient than study alone because of the aforementioned facts that it improves intellectual abilities as well as offer team building. In the future, we will certainly see schools and universities take greater measures to ensure that more group-level cognition occurs in the classroom.