The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amount of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ancient buildings need regular maintenance. As renovation of these historical buildings drain away large part of the government budget, therefore, some people hold the opinion that this money would be better invested on construction of new buildings and roads. However, I strongly disagree with latter notion and in this essay I will support my viewpoint with examples.

Historical buildings are source of tourism. Almost every country has ancient monuments which attract thousands of tourists all over the world. maintenance of these buildings by government bodies not only make the country proud about its ancient property but also source of income for government. One such instance is Taj Mahal located in India. Taj Mahal is one of the 7 wonders of the world and its exquisite beauty attracts lots of visitors around the world every year. It has been mentioned in one survey that 20% of state's revenue is being generated by this wonder because of the patronage of the tourists.

Moreover, ancient buildings proved to be an excellent source of education for students as well as researchers. An excursion to such ancient buildings provide better assistance to students and create a vivid picture about history and architecture associated with these monuments. History and Architectural study are such areas which make use of these ancient structures as a teaching tool. I vividly remember an educational trip to Amritsar's Jalianwala Bagh during my school time. By looking at the many decades old marks of bullets on walls, we learnt about the sacrifices made by our patriots in past.

To recapitulate, the expenditure to preserve ancient buildings for tourism and educational assistance is worthy not only for one nation but also conserve land and trees to prevent global warming.