Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is observed that social media sites, for instance, Facebook and Instagram have had a detrimental impact on the individuals as well as our society or local community. In my opinion, while it is apparent that individuals are having benefits from this trend, however, local communities are lacking its significance in this era of technology.

Firstly, social media is the most convenient way to connect with people around the world, with the help of internet many individuals are now trying to make themselves a part of the global hub. However, in retrospect, this seems so impossible and most of the time people used to spend with local circle and community only. Furthermore, now individuals can share their thoughts and opinion among others with the facts and figures. Consequently, people with common interest now have a common ground for discussion and to enhance their ideas.

On the other hand, while individuals are gaining perks being attached to these online social services, our local communities and societies are suffering from its adverse effects. According to a survey by a world-famous organization "The Global Tech", around seventy-six percent of individuals spend approximately six hours on daily basis on social media. Hence, this proves that people are now more engaged with others, online instead of spending time with their local friend circle or community. Certainly, such a situation is an alarming one for the existence of our society, because people are now lacking in personal harmony and togetherness.

To conclude, in my opinion, social media providing enough exposure to individuals to associate with each other around the globe, although it has had a various negative impact on society as a whole.