Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Social Media has grown immensely in the last 10 years and has become an integral part of our life. Owing to its popularity, a lot of people had made their midset that Social Media such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and many more had a detrimental effect on individuals as well as society. I concur that it is affecting the lives of teenagers, kids, and even older people, along with also harming our diverse society.

To begin with, social media is affecting society in broader aspects. People are spending long hours just strolling on these Social Networking Sites without taking any valuable aspect to improve themselves. As a consequence, people are not able to gain the essential social behavior and prove nothing to their community. Instead, they are wasting their time, on these sites, blindly following an influencer which they would rarely meet in their whole life. For instance, there are many kids which are highly influenced in gaming, following the influencers on these sites. These kids have changed their way of living by spending most of their time playing computer or mobile games rather than involved in some physical sports, which is highly affecting their education, health as well as they lack most of the social skills, which indeed affects society, especially the one with local communities.

Moreover, the dramatic increase in the demand for social media had created a way for fraudsters, to spread their curated news easily on the daily basis. Following certain sophisticated tactics, they tend to gain people's beliefs and make it so much appealing that they tend to believe or form opinions related to whatever they have seen on these sites. As a result, false or misleading information presented as news is spreading more and more, which may affect individuals and also society. To illustrate, there was a celebrity Ranbir Kapoor, on which the fake allegation of dealing with drugs was put on. With the trend on Twitter, people had started creating their opinions, which had a huge impact on his professional and personal life. Later on, after investigation, it was cleared that the news which was spread was entirely false. As stated, these sites had highly affected our society and our beliefs.

In conclusion, social media is growing at a rapid pace, and with technological advancement, it will continue to thrive, but it is also deteriorating our society and our own lives. To mitigate such an impact, it's highly difficult and challenging. Fraud news on these sites is spreading almost daily. People are wasting a lot of time perpetually strolling on this platform, affecting their own life, causing them not involved in social activities in their society.