Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

It is often thought by many that a variety of curriculum should be taught to the University youth. However, it is argued by some that particular subjects work better toward drawing students attention in study. I firmly agree with the latter view point.

Firstly, tertiary education is meant for specific subject knowledge rather general knowledge in every subjects. Studying of few subjects make learning more effective and increase the efficiency of students. It provide a chance to pupils to focus more on the pivotal area of study which generate curiosity, and attracts interest and enthusiasm. Ultimately, it make students feel more connected towards their major specialisation. In addition, it help students to score high marks in exams, and hence, to achieve their goals in the life. Secondly, some institutes are maintaining their recognition globally and they do not want to struggle with it. For example, "Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi" is a established and reputed institute for research and technical study. Students from abroad come here to take admission to accumulate technical knowledge. what if it makes arts and sociology as compulsory subjects for technical students? Do people think that the popularity will remain the same among them?

Lastly, graduating in major subjects open-up the door of opportunity in term of career path. With upgradation of technology, the demand of highly skilled labours are gradually rising and skill should be only enhanced by mastering few subjects, and therefore, it give more freedom of choice to students in selecting the study and research field. For instance, nowadays, research in medical field is increasingly popular. The need of vaccine for various diseases, namely AIDS and coronavirus are on the top, and this could not be invented by a person acquiring general knowledge in every subject rather it requires some particular skills in medical domain.

To conclude, In my opinion, tertiary institutes are meant for major subjects. Studying few subjects in the university works better towards building a skilled community and nation because it help youth not only in concentrating on subjects per their area of interest but also provoke them to get involved in research and contribute to society.