Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Certainly, increasing traffic offences in metropolis are becoming a serious issue for the government. Although authorities are doing their best in lowering the traffic crimes by introducing rigid laws, I believe that more stricter rules and regulations require to create fear and discipline in people.

To start, with regards to the adolescents, relaxing traffic punishment has a harmful effect on the society. Firstly, youngsters do not pay much attention to lose law, and ultimately, it leads to making an unethical society in long run. Secondly, following traffic regulations owing to strict punishments help in building disciple in mass people, which is very important to bring in the character of today's community. After all, discipline is the most vital aspect of the human life. For example, minimal fine amount is being charged in India for jumping a red light or on not wearing a seat belt while driving a four-wheeler; however, on breaking of same traffic rules in Hong Kong can cost a person to thousand dollars. Therefore, it is very important to increase penalty to cope with traffic violations.

In addition, it has been seen that a country with the harden traffic punishments or laws has lower crime rates. Undoubtedly, it helps the authorities not to deal with the daily offences, and therefore, they can increase their productivity and efficiency by investigating other crimes. Lastly, loosen traffic law may lead to fearful accidents, which is an awful crime in itself. Moreover, with increase of traffic punishments problems particularly, road rage will come to an end, which usually a reason of unrest in the society. For instance, recently, it was published in TOI newspaper that a person shot to dead in a road rage after his car had allegedly hit the accused's car. Such violences are massive destruction to the societies.

On the other side, however, while I believe that any chance should not be given to the culprit of road offence to go easy, I agree that some new road users ought to be given an amount of liberty due to their mental circumstances while driving on the roads. On the contrary, such small instances of breaching law should not affect any person or society by any mean. It is only good until they keep learning a lesson from such mistakes.

To conclude, although some freedom may be acceptable for new vehicle users depending on their cases and situations, in my view stricter traffic punishment is a great solution to end the origin of other crimes such as accidents and road rages.