Many people believe that the use of new technology improves the lives of employees. Others think it is a disadvantage for them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

New technological advancements in the last couple of decades have resulted in a lot of debates about the uses, merits and demerits in different facets of life. A part of the working population is of the impression that gadgets and gizmos are advantageous to work whereas others think it is detrimental. There are rational arguments to both these views.

On one hand, people believe that technology assists and streamlines redundancies in the working of an organization. For instance, daily menial aspects of a job like data entry can be completed much faster and more efficiently using the marvels of new technology. Moreover, it also reduces paper usage for logging of information which in turn helps save the planet from deforestation.

On the other hand, some people think that modern advancements such as smartphones and improved computers affect productivity as it provides an employee with more channels of distractions. Furthermore, technology has made work increasingly monotonous and less creative. Additionally, due to the high level of dependency on machines and associated technologies, the lack thereof causes work to come to a standstill.

However, in my opinion, technological advancements have given today's employees more flexibility compared to an employee who worked before the use of technology. For instance, employees enjoy the option to work from home and flexible work hours which was not a prevalent option before. Additionally, redundant and mundane work has been either digitalized or automated due to technology and thus helps employees focus on issues that truly help organizations grow.

In conclusion, there are a lot of valid and justifiable arguments to both sides of the controversy. It is my opinion that improved technology has immense advantages for the working class. However, the method of utilization of technology dictates whether it is good or bad for working lives.