Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

In this contemporary world, interaction and communication between people have been altered drastically with the advancement in technology. Therefore, some advocate the view of making friends through micro blogging sites, while others are against it. On the whole, I partially agree with this statement.

To begin with, friends play an essential role in people's life in some form or the other, and thus social sites facilitate people to make friends easily which in turn result many strong outcomes. Firstly, social networking sites have brought this entire world at a one place, where anyone can make friends, irrespective of any boundary and limitation as a result communication gap has been narrowed between people, thereby easier to find like minded people. On the top of that, social sites enable people to make friends safely and in a good way, as people become friends and meet each other after better understanding. For instance, it has been found that people, who lack in confidence while having personal interaction, can have better friends and communication through social sites.

On the contrary, the bedrock of friendship is based on truth, values and mutual understanding, hence it can only be ensured when people have an interaction personally, which in turn prove that there are myriad negative aspects of making friends on social sites. Very first, one cannot get real picture about the person who is in social sites, as many people make fake accounts and apply morph pictures, which result sometime fraud and other disappointments. In addition, friends by social sites can be a prime source of distraction for the young mind, which may sometime lead them towards untoward conditions.

In conclusion, I opine that social sites have both sides, positive and negative, therefore people should use it for their development.