Many people say that the only way to guarantee getting a good job is to complete
a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after
school and gain experience in the world of work.
How far do you agree or disagree with the above views?
It is probably true to say that most people believe that a university degree is the only
way to get a good job. I think this is true in certain areas, while in other areas, a
degree is not as useful.
To begin with, many people have ambitions to become a qualified professional and there
is no doubt that becoming a doctor or a lawyer, for example, is only possible with a
degree. Another advantage of graduating from university is that it gives you more
choices when it comes to choosing a job. Most employers will be more impressed by a
candidate who has a degree than they would be by one who only has high school
qualifications because it shows a certain level of intelligence and education, as well as
the commitment and self-discipline that is needed In order to study a degree course for
three or four years.
On the other hand, there might be some benefit to starting your career early, especially
if your chosen field is one which does not typically require a university education. This
would apply to somebody who wants to be a car mechanic, or a fashion designer, for
instance, who would not necessarily gain anything from going to university. The handson
experience you gain in your job while others are studying for a degree can give you
a distinct advantage. I once read
about a man who left school at sixteen and
went on to become a wealthy and successful investment broker. He claimed that he had
learned all he needed to know by working in his chosen field and that he could not have
done any better by getting a degree.
So, to conclude, it is possible to get a good job without going to university. Having said
that, some professions, such as the law, require you to have a degree and as stated
above a University degree could potentially open more doors when looking for a job.