Many people these days travel far for work or spend more hours working. Does this trend have advantages or disadvantages? What do you think about work-life balance?

Nowadays, a plentiful number of working professionals are working long hours or traveling miles away to go to work. However, even though this practice would make them earning better, but there are several destructive benefits with this kind of pattern. In this essay, I will discuss the demerits of this ongoing trend along with defining the balancing of professional and personal life in my views.

Apparently, various factors make a section of society advocate that working long hours or traveling far distances for work have two prime disadvantages in an adult's life. First and foremost is fact that many people who are following the pattern of working overtime at their offices are affected by their personal lives. To illustrate, many of the freshers in companies are giving their every ounce of energy to work overtime and learn about the corporate world in their respective sectors. In this way, they spend most of the time at their offices with colleagues instead of spending time with their loved ones. This kind of habit affects their social relationships with their family, friends, and if the person is married, it will affect his relationship with their partners. Secondly, another flaw comes from a professional career. Since every person has their future endeavors, but not all of them achieve their goals because of working too long at their firms. Because they fail to concentrate at their jobs and take longer to finish their tasks. This kind of result declines the graph of working professionals' productivity in their careers and they end up not achieving their goals. Additionally, it also affects the health of an individual while working too long. Thus, I believe that the above two reasons would have explained the cons of working too long whether traveling for work or spending more time at companies.

In my opinion, the work-life balance simply means striking a healthy balance between a person's working life and personal life. Everyone should learn the main skill of work-life balance that is time management. If people are able to handle the flawless skills of time management, they will rock-solid to maintain the work-life balance. Although I understand some people do not like to follow a schedule in their lives, I think it is the only way to maintain a healthy balance between personal and professional lives.

To conclude, although people are working late in terms of traveling far from work or doing overtime at their firms, it has more downside than the upside in both of the work-life and personal life. Therefore, a better work-life balance needs to be followed among these working professionals by maintaining a daily time-table which will result in numerous benefits such as healthy, physically fit, maintaining good social relationships with their loved ones, and at last but not the least their smooth road to incline their professional careers.