Many people try to look younger than they really are. What are the reasons for that? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays almost everybody wants to look younger than actual age. I believe it is due to extensive influence of social media on our lives and alluring marketing campaigns of cosmetics industry. As far as my perspective is concerned, it is a negative trend.

Firstly, social media plays an important role in shaping trends of the future and one of these trends is effort to look beautiful and young, because websites such as Facebook and Instagram are mainly based on sharing photos and videos of personal life, and everybody wants to be praised for his or her looks. That is the one reason people are struggling to maintain their looks. Furthermore, cosmetic industry takes advantage of this and comes up with attractive advertisements for their products, which ensure to keep people young, take example of cosmetic surgery which is becoming increasingly popular even in developing countries like Pakistan. Both are main factors to compel people to look younger.

Whether it is a good or bad thing? An answer to this question is not as simple as it seems, since some people may argue that it is personal matter and good looks may help in number of ways. However, the way people spend millions, merely on their looks, makes it a negative development. In developing countries like Pakistan, where a lot needs to be done in education and health sector, such extravagance should not be practiced. Moreover, most companies make false claims about efficacy and safety of their products and put the health of consumers at risk. For instance, some products have been reported to cause skin allergies.

In conclusion, the race to maintain young looks is influenced by the social media and greed of cosmetic companies, which makes it a negative development.