Many people work for long hours, leaving little time for leisure activities

Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

A lot of people spend too much time working, so they rarely leave time for leisure activities. Although this is somewhat paying off with advancement in career, which is often cherished as a vast achievement, there are serious untold risks threatening to negate the benefit.

Admittedly, it is advantageous for individuals who work long duration as they often obtain greater height at work. Indeed, as people devote a large part of their time to work and practice relentlessly, they tend to adapt to the procedure of the occupation better, so much that they sometimes become perfect. This means that they oftentimes carry out difficult tasks more efficiently than their colleagues when it matters the most, which makes them more useful. As a result, such people are usually noticed and, consequently, appreciated by being promoted ahead of others.

Despite this minor upside, I believe prolonged working hours and reduced leisure time could be disadvantageous in some ways. Firstly, it may lead to an unfavorable health condition as the body system tend to be overworked. One such case was reported by scientists in the US, where many people suffered from brain paralysis because they work too much and do not create time to have fun. My point is that leisure activities help to refresh our memory -- and that hardly would there be sound health if it is not given more time. Secondly devoting much time to work and less to leisure activities could make people slightly detached from loved ones. In other words, in many cases, free-time activities are mostly done with family and friends, and it strengthens the bond among them, but this is unlikely to happen since many individuals work more. Emotions, therefore, would fade as they incautiously drift apart.

In conclusion, it is clear that working for long is beneficial, but major downsides such as illness and detachment are more. On the basis of this, the disadvantages are more than the advantages.