Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour.(opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past, it takes long hours to complete a task through physical exploitation, whereas the same work takes shorter time frame nowadays, largely due to the technology growth and automatic machines. For this reason, it is argued by people that the duration of work should be cut down. Absolutely, I agree with this ideology because of the following reasons.

To begin with, the speed rate at which chores are accomplished is astonishingly high. The computerized machines execute duties twice as fast as humans. If information is correctly input, and the instructions are intact, there would not be any unnecessary delays. For instance, while a man would take some minutes to process a mathematical equation, a Central Processing Unit will do same in millisecond. This means that the higher the technology the lower the time and labour needed

Another point is from the multitask ability angle. Autonomous engines, if well programmed, could perform multiple tasks that are meant for a number of individuals. By doing this, the amount of manual labour that is required will reduce, therefore the jobs will be done within a specific duration. For instance, a crushing machine in a mining factory can load, crush and unload products without hassle. Obviously, there is no need for manual labour which, undoubtedly, will waste time. Since this has been removed, it will be more easier to execute

As can be seen, high-level engines which were birthed by advanced technology enable speed and multitask, and as a result, the delegated tasks are completed swiftly. On the basis of this, the working hour should be reduced.