In many places homes need to be build but there is no space. Some say that it is important to protect countryside and not build homes.

What is your opinion

Give reason and ex

A rapid increase in the population of the world is witnessed in this century. This raises the issue of providing homes to the people, but due to limited land resources, housing is a common problem in many countries. Putting countryside land for housing purposes is definitely not a viable option, as it will further cause a dearth in the production of crops and other basic needs. Moreover, it will cause the exploitation of the pristine countryside as well.

As we all know cities are the preferred location for housing, but overcrowding of the cities has forced the people to move to countryside areas. Using the countryside land for housing will mean less arable land for the purpose of agriculture, this in return will increase the demand for both cash and commercial crops. To illustrate, the land which was earlier being used for agriculture will now be used for housing and the government will have to import crops which were earlier being grown in our own country.

Not only the agricultural cycle but the ecological pattern will also get disturbed. More housing facilities in the countryside will definitely attract more population, which in turn will put pressure on the resources available in the countryside. It will also increase the waste and the undisturbed nature of the countryside will start perishing. A survey conducted by the MCD of India shows that some villages which have witnessed population increase have started facing the problem of scarcity of resources and waste disposal as well.

Hence, it is important to understand that shifting the excess population to the countryside will not provide a permanent solution. It will further harm the countryside environment and create the same problem that people in the cities are already facing.