In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

what is your opinion about this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are more homes required and the only option left for building new houses is in the villages. Few people are in an opinion that it is vital to safeguard the countryside and construction of new buildings should not be allowed there. I feel that countryside should not be allowed for any future construction. However, the current housing structure with in the cities should be changed to accommodate more people.

In the past two decades, the job opportunities in cities has increased because of various factors, which has led to increase of population. This mass increase in population has led to more need of shelter. For example, in Hyderabad, a lot of Information Technology (IT) companies are being established providing employment to various people and hence the employees from different regions are coming here, which has caused a high demand of more housing and there is no land in the city for new houses. Hence few people argue that countryside should be used for new construction.

On the contrary, villages are key for farming and producing food. If this farming land is used for construction and no food is produced it would become challenging for all the human beings. For instance, a survey conducted by Food Corporation of India (FCI) has confirmed that current farms available are producing only about 110% of the rice required for the current population and if any drought is caused because of natural calamities, we would run shortage of rice by 3 months. Further construction of houses in villages should be banned.

To summarise, considering that countryside is more important for food production, the cities should be modified to accommodate more people by constructing high rise apartments.