The importance of exercise and staying active has always been promoted by medical experts. In contemporary society, professionals are least bothered about engaging themselves in physical acitvities on week days or even on weekends when they have ample leisure time. As a result of this sedentary lifesyle, it is common among population to develop several health issues at an early age. This essay will discuss why people are losing interest in exercising and what can be done to address this issue.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why working class has suddenly adopted a sedentary and static lifestyle. While it is easy to blame technology for this, however, significant increase in stress level at work place is predominantly the reason why people are no more inclined towards any exercise or sports that involve physical exertion. In other words, after a hectic day at office, working professionals look for ways to relax their mind such as watching movies or news. For instance, a recent research carried out by Pakistan Electronic Media Authority highlighted that an average worker spends 3 4 hours daily in front of tv after office hours. Another reason why people are not exercising is due lack of parks and gyms especially in metropolitan cities.

Maintaing a good work-life balance and construction of plenty of parks and gyms by the government are both critical to promote the culture of exercise. Employers need to step in to ensure their employees are not overburdened so that the stress level can be reduced. For instance, a consultant can be hired to ensure that the work is equally distributed among the team. Futhermore, the government must review the city plan construct park and gyms in each area to ensure the inhabitats have access to these areas.

In conclusion, it is true that workers are not allocating time to exercise due to stressful work environment and lack of facilites such as play area and fitness centers. However, employers and government can play role to address these issues by creating a stress free environment at office and constructing play ground and fitness centers.