Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

Marriage had been a sacred Institution. However, of late it is being made a larger than life affair, that too on a grander scale. I personally believe that it’s a harmful development for the entire humanity. This essay would analyse, as to why marriages held on such lavish scales would rake a havoc on the society?

The most compelling reason behind marriages becoming such expensive affairs is that everyone loves to flaunt their wealth, their power and their status. Since the affluent begin the trend and the poor gullible simply emulate their celebrations on account of illiteracy. Take for example, Laxmi Narayan Mittal, the richest Indian steel magnate settle in the UK. He had an opulent wedding ceremony for his daughter held at the grandest locations with an array of celebrity guest lasting for weeks, moreover the expenditure of this kind of wedding amounted to a whopping amount of a couple of 100 crores. Yet, the saddest part of this fairy tale wedding was that this marriage also ended up in a divorce in a short span of four months. This kind short-lived happiness does not justify the purpose behind it.

I am against these kind of plush weddings, for the simple reason that Marriage can be organised in an economical way too, and still it can be full of sweet memories. After all marriage is a private affair and the main purpose of marriage is to celebrate the occasion of a blissful journey of togetherness. For instance, lately an Indian Maharashtrian couple had ditched the idea of a big fat Indian wedding and donated all their savings to charity. So they stared their journey on the right note by believing in the logic of sharing their joy of having found an ideal soul-mate by contributing to the society. For now, they have got blessings of hundreds of people who have witnessed the generosity. So these kind of individuals who believe in community living, by sharing their joys and sorrows with each other will certainly beneficiaries in the long run.

To summarize. I would reaffirm my faith in a simple but tasteful wedding to make it financially less taxing even for the rich or for the poor.