Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Undoubtedly, shopping has become one of the main leisure activities throughout the world, especially for the youth. Following essay will list out the possible causes of this trend and then expand on my views, which are totally negative in nature.

The main reason behind the current youth turning shopaholics, is the over influence of celebrities in the recent times. Unlike earlier times, people today are easily inspired by the celebrities through social media and observe their consistently changing fashion and style statement. Take for example, nowadays every Newspaper covers their changing Airport looks, their Gym looks and even their swimsuit looks. As a result, people especially young adults, are lured towards the latest fashion trends in the market and always find their existing wardrobe as boring. Secondly, most of the youth today have taken part-time jobs to increase their pocket money. So they get habitual to spending a lot rather than, saving. Websites like, Amazon, flip-card and even e-commerce of late have been thronged by teenagers with requests ranging from the latest glares to formal attires. Hence, this kind of over-consumerism is the prime cause of youth desolation.

The impact of youth spending most of their free time shopping and following fashion trends is surely a negative development, as they remain unfocused towards their career goals of life. Furthermore, they may take up to fashion not out of choice, but out of peer pressure. So many Indian parents of late have observed their academician children’s grades taking a plunge as soon as they start going to universities. Secondly, there are many who cannot afford to follow latest fashion all the time, these students land up having an inferiority complex. Such college students remain depressed as they are judged and sometimes are bullied by other students because of their old style and stable dressing sense. Thus, it is quite evident, had there been less influence of fashion or shopping in students’ lives, they would have been more career-oriented and compassionate by nature.

To conclude, social media and celebrities regular fashion updates makes the youth shopaholics and indulge in wasteful expenditures during their leisure time too. Further, distracting them from reaching their career goals and leaves them suffer from inferiority complex.