Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that family still remains very important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A child’s mind is influenced by a multiple number of factors. According to a few, in today’s times a child’s brain is highly influenced by TV, pals and even music. However, others still feel that parent are major influencers in a child’s life. This essay would asses both the sides and conclude with my opinion.

To begin with, the people who believe friends, TV and music are largely responsible for impacting Child’s mind nowadays is because of the sole reason that, the child’s constant contacts established over the years with their peers. It may be for the good or even for the bad. However, in current times it majorly for the worst Like for instance, some children take up drinking, smoking, abusing, prevaricating trying to emulate their friends, TV or even music. To illustrate, juvenile crime has registered a drastic increase in the past few years due to violence in films, serials advertisement etc. being depicted openly on the TV. If, violence is propagated at such large scale it is bound to corrupt a child’s innocuous mind.

On the other side, there are people who bolster the option that parents play a pivotal role in shaping up the child’s life. There is valid reason behind their opinion. Take for example, there are generation of famous artists, doctors and even athletes. Who believe in following the foots steps of their parents, they are not the type of children to be influenced by the buddies or blindly follow media. Like Zakir Hussain the famous Tabla virtuoso who chose to follow his father Ustad Allah Rakha the legendary table players footsteps and went to extent of winning the Padma Bhushan. There are many who are more inclined towards their parents than, their friends.

To recapitulate. I feel that parents play a prime role in moulding their child’s behaviour, attitude since birth as, who else is the best well-wisher of the child, other than his/her parents?