Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

Modern times have shown large scale wedding, incurring high costs as compared to past weddings. There are enormous reasons for this development which will be analyzed in following paragraphs. I consider this to be a negative development not only for the individual family but also for the society as a whole.

Predominantly, the evident reason for extravagant wedding events occurred cause of social status stress families bear. People nowadays have more expandable income as compared to past which leads them to organize grand wedding events with undue expenses in order to show off their sound financial status. Since this become a norm, expectations from the families brings a lot of pressure to impress the guests with luxurious decors and other outstanding arrangements. I personally know a family, who spent a lot of amount on irrelevant arrangements just to impress the in-laws and other guests, the same amount could have been shared with needy people around them.

These investments certainly pose a lot of detrimental effects on couple’s life. The amount spent on grand event would become a problem to repay and leads to unpleasant future. For instance, there are certain cases where people borrow handsome amount of money in order to spend on the wedding and in the end selling their assets for repayment. Irrational approach & maintenance of social status got these couple into long term trouble of financial instability

In summation, expensive weddings and humongous expenditures spent on two to three days event is encouraged nowadays which ultimately put few people into inferiority complex and other’s in financial insecurity. Instead of organizing grand weddings people should spend their money for charitable purposes