To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population countries should make use of edible insects as food However some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but negatively affect nature too What are the benefits and drawbacks of eat

The growing population in the world means we need more food supplies. While some people believe the food problem can be solved by incorporating edible insects into the human food chain, others disagree because they think the demerits of eating insects could be much bolder. In this short essay, I will elaborate advantages and disadvantages of this opinion.

Unlike other species of animals, insects reproduce extremely fast. Not only the reproduction cycle in insects is very short, but also they can lay millions of eggs in a short period. Therefore, it is possible to cultivate them in insects farm for mass production as a potential food source for the future. Besides, they have a substantial amount of proteins, energy and vitamins that can be a decent substitute for other protein sources such as beef, lamb, etc.

Eating insects is against animal rights. However, bugs are not popular animals among people, but they are still animals, and putting them at risk of extinction is against their rights. It has been estimated that more than 1 trillion insects are being killed yearly to compensate for the lack of food supplies. What is more, the way that farmers behave with bugs, and the condition in which they are raising insects, is brutal. Above all, insects are still unknown and eating them might be dangerous for our health. Considering what the whole planet has experienced after starting Covid-19, we must concern about the consequences that eating insects might have.

In conclusion, although the short reproduction time and being a good source of protein makes insects a potential food source, we must consider the risks of eating them and treat them like any other animal. In my opinion, using them as a food source might be inevitable in the future but providing better raising conditions on the farms and seeking other potential food sources like vegetables is the responsibility of all countries.