Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advent of technological devices in the modern era, there has been a steep decline in the demand for primitive ways of exchanging messages. The modern communication system has eradicated the requirement to write letters. And, I firmly concur that the new era of communication is replacing the old ones.

Communications have become more convenient because of technological advancements. People can now share the messages within minutes which earlier took days to reach the concerned person. For instance, earlier the fastest mode of communication used to be telegrams that took nearly 2-3 days which, after the invention of telephones reduced to 1 minute.

Moreover, with the invention of video calls, the emotional touch of the letters has also withered over a period of time. Nowadays, a person can meet another person virtually through video calls conversations, and exchanging information which was lacking in the older ways of communication. According to the BBC survey, 79% of the world's population believes in using the video call virtual feature where they feel more connected with their loved ones rather than writing and exchanging letters. Additionally, with the rapid development of technology, elderly people can communicate effortlessly. All you need is to speak and the smart device will automatically translate it into notes which can be shared with the relevant person.

In conclusion, the current era of telecommunications has pushed letters writing to the brink which would sooner or later become extinct. Some reasons being convenenience, addition of emotional touch with video calls, and the east of modern communication system would be the result of such effect.