More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

The ever-increasing number of personal vehicles has sparked heated debates about why people prefer to use their cars rather than using mass transport. Convenience and showing off are usually attributed as the most two common reasons, however there are several feasible solutions can be taken by the government to make public transport be first choice of people.

There are many reasons why personal convenience and projecting personal wealth should be taken into account for increasing usage of private motorcars. First, since the personal cars have been providing numerous benefits and convenience for users, it is extremely hard for people to find their excuses of not using this kind of transport. For example, inhabitants only need to walk a few steps from the house to their cars and drive it to their intended destination without spending times at bus stations under some weather constraints such as raining, snowing or heating. Second, possessing a private car are nowadays usually implied of projecting their wealth or success, which encourages people to purchase personal car as soon as they can in order to demonstrate to other that they are wealthy. This means that owning a car is mostly considered as one of the top priority of people nowadays, which contribute to the growing number of personal vehicle on road.

Fortunately, there are some workable approaches that can be taken by the authority to fortify people to use massive transport system. First, widening public transport system would be the first mission that Government has to enhance in order to marginalize the inconvenience of public transport, by executing this plan, locals will hardly find further excuses to use their personal cars. Plenty of researches have shown that one of the most reasons which refrains people taking public transport, is the bus route does not reach to their areas, which is why many people prefer possessing a car rather than using public transport. Another measure can be taken is to increase cost of driving into metropolitan areas, which could be done through augmenting toll fees and park fees in central places. By imposing this rising of charges, driver would definitely think twice before taking their car into city and together with a upgraded public transport system, they will highly switch their commute to buses or trains.

In conclusion, nevertheless there are some reasons can persuade people using personal vehicles rather than taking public transport, the circumstance can be improved by fostering mass transport system and imposing higher charges. In order to achieve highest effectiveness, these two approaches are recommended to be executed together.