As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although, it is undeniable that a university degree plays an important role in securing a job but it does not assert professional success. With the surge in the number of students in the universities, there is an increase competition in the job market. However, it does not mean that the academic qualifications has less significance. In this essay, I will explore the idea that in order to accelerate professional career in future, it is inconsequential to acquire more than one degree and support that multiple university degrees do not confirm success.

Having multiple degree does not guaranty a job. Perhaps, having degree in different disciplines broadens the options of job type but it does not promise a sustainable job. The industry seeks for professional with first hands experience than just having a knowledge or a piece of paper provided by an institution. If you can not get success in your profession because of having just one university degree than the second degree would not make things any different.

Talent is still sought the most, by most, of the multinational company. For instance, Google and amazon have an extremely varied recruitment process which sets them apart from other companies which are struggling to rise up. Google hunts for talent and real-life skill to create good products and services. What it shows is that one should acquire multitude of skills and talent than multiple degrees.

In conclusion, despite of the fact that degree impart a great role to start a job it is highly overrated. From the ancient time, skill and talent and right attitude has always been in demand.

“An innovative idea can lead to professional success over a piece of paper given by an institution”