More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples to support your view.

There has been a significant increase in the number of people who are living alone in the modern era. In my opinion, while this inclination has caused isolation and other addictions to the new generation, there are a few positives that can not be ignored.

A prime benefit of this trend is, becoming independent and financially responsible. This is because, concerning the former view, a person who lives alone has to deal with day to day household requirements and tasks himself\herself. This makes a person self-sufficient. As for the latter, unlike with family, all the money related decisions are taken by an individual, which plays a vital role in preparing a person to lead a prosperous adult life. For instance, while investing the money on anything, rather than depending on parents or family, an individual does lots of research in the market and other stuff on the internet. As a result, a strong personality and confidence are the few qualities that a person imbibes from such a lifestyle.

On the other hand, there are few untoward repercussions of this transition. Staying alone for the longest time isolates a person from society. As a result, not only they become emotionally detached from their families and loved ones, but they also develop bad habits such as alcohol and smoking. For instance, a growing number of youngsters, who are staying away from their families, often seen partying at the club or pubs and consuming drinks. Consequently, a large portion of modern days is suffering from serious health issues.

In conclusion, although this development has brought few positives to modern society, such as financial expert and self-competent citizens, in my opinion, the negatives of being alienated from the community and lack of emotional attachment should also be taken into account.