Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive findings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

Yesterday I read an article about artists, who are low-paid and need a financial support. This leads one to wonder whether governments should pay extra to them so that they would be interested in working in art further. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that the job of artists is unprofitable for governments. The work of artists is usually low-paid compared to other jobs. Therefore, the government often concentrate on lucrative professions, which can generate more taxes, such as bank workers and engineers. Another reason why governments should not pay extra money to artists is that they need to support more important areas. Like artists, teachers and medical workers are not well-paid, but their work is more essential, since education prepares future engineers, and health care saves many lives from various diseases. If the government supported artists as well, this would have negative impact on the salaries of teachers and doctors.

However, some artists claim that the government should support them financially so that they could keep working in art. The reason is that artists could develop their skills to the full. Workers in art often cannot improve their qualifications because they usually have to take a part-time job to support their families. However, if the government added additional pay to their salaries, they could fully immerse themselves in art and produce high-quality work in music, pictures and stage. Despite this, nurturing good artists takes many years, and there is no guarantee that they would reach their goals. Thus, governments should focus on more important aspects of society, which can help people now.

In conclusion, governments should not give an extra funding to artists, since art is not profitable and frivolous in comparison to other occupations.