Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive findings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the request of artists to the government. The author said that some artists need a financial support because of their insufficient salary. This request leads one to wonder whether the government should grant their request. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that art generates low income to the budget. Since the invention of TV and the Internet, people have been showing low interest in art. This change is causing a negative impact on how much financial gain the places of art can generate. As a result, the government has nothing to take money to provide artists with extra aid. For example, over the last ten years the theaters in Karaganda city has caused a considerable loss in the budget of the city as they pay little tax, while request more money.

Another reason why the government should not help artists is that it has more important areas of life to support. Apart from artists, authorities must allocate money for doctors and teachers, but when comparing them by benefit to society, artists are low on the list. Thus, the state officials need to secure education and medicine with high salaries before they accommodate the needs of artists.

However, some politicians state that the government should fulfill the needs of artists. The main argument for their opinion is that they entertain society. They claim that artists perform plays, exhibit pictures, and sing songs for the joy of audience, but if the government neglect their request for better quality of life, there will be none to do this. For instance, on various occasions, such as New Year, artist from different regions come to the city center in Karaganda city to show customs and traditions of local nationalities. However, their number is decreasing every year because they see little governmental support. Despite this, firstly, the government should focus on the requests of society rather than artists.

In conclusion, governments definitely should not give an extra funding to artists, since art is not profitable and relatively less important than other occupations.