Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

At present, various global organizations are rapidly setting up their branches in underdeveloped countries. This essay will first suggest that a good quality product is a primary benefit, while compelling the resources to often do overtime is a major drawback.

The principle benefit is that a multinational organization provide the product with high-quality standards. This is because these companies are abiding to follow standards laid by the international governing agencies, resulting in the best quality production. To provide a good consumer experience is the motive of such companies, which ultimately benefits the end user in underdeveloped nations. For instance, to setup a manufacturing plant in India, the foreign company has to pass the quality audits to demonstrate that they are producing a good quality product.

The main drawback of this trend is that employees of these companies often have to work extra long duration. This is because these companies setup manufacturing plants in underdeveloped nations so that they can save on labour cost. They can hire a resource at one-tenth of the cost that they have to pay a resource in the developed country. Hence, they often abuse the workforce by forcing them to work extra hours, which have an adverse effect on workers' mental and physical health. For example, a recent news revealed that Samsung has come under scrutiny due to the appalling work conditions in their manufacturing plant in Hyderabad.

To conclude, transnational firms often open their branches in less developed nations which results in the best consumer experience for the citizens of these countries. However, the main drawback is that these companies make the resources to work for the extra duration of hours which could impact their health.