New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern technologies are becoming more widespread amongst children, therefore, they tend to spend their free time on various new devices, in particular, on computers or smartphones. This certainly brings new opportunities to educate children and is ’unfailing’ friend of parents who would like to have a rest from a fuss around them. However, the risk of addiction increases equally and children may prefer virtuality to real life.

First of all, there are some advantages of changed way to pass time. One important fact is that new technologies provide people with wider range of opportunities, especially for children. The majority of games and videos on the internet have great educational value. For example, by watching special juvenile shows about surrounding world children gain more knowledge, which is particularly useful to animals, musical instruments and so on. Moreover, all these colorful games and videos may definitely draw children's attention away and give a short break for parents to relax. This method is gaining popularity among younger generation of parents since it is an effective way to calm down a child.

Although, unstrict control of parents may let addiction appear. Usually children become too keen on playing games and, as a result, spend all leisure time by computer or other devices. Obviously, addiction is a mental issue itself, nevertheless, it leads to another health problems such as hypodynamia and scolyosis, all caused by sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, dangerous enthusiasm for virtual world grows, because all the open opportunities attract a child. For instance, they might prefer fantasy world of the game to the reality and be satisfied by endless control they get in the virtual world. Subsequently, children may not want to come back into the reality, which causes some mental issues and problems with socialization.

To summarize, despite the educational value of new technologies, present way of spending time by modern devices lead to problems such as game addiction and unwillingness to be part of the real world. In my opinion, under weak control, changed way to pass time is more disadvantageous for children.