News / Media has an influence on our life and some people think it can have a negative effect. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

It is argued that multimedia could have an adverse impact on people's lives. This essay agrees with this statement because they over exaggerate news for their own benefits and promote even wrong products for their financial gain.

Mass communication overemphasizes some news to gain higher attention from the public. They broadcast information in a manner to convince people that what they are telling is the ultimate truth and more people get influenced to watch their shows. As a result, they get a higher TRP (television rating points) which results in more business contracts. For example, as per the recent survey conducted by Times magazine, the news channels charge hefty amount from political parties to show the only positive side of their work to convince citizens to vote only to those candidates.

They promote products irresponsibly without knowing their harmful effects. The news telecasting agencies publish adverts for their income even if that product is hazardous to the consumer. Their first motive is to sell the product and if the product gets higher sales then their goal is achieved irrespective of the fact that product could be bad for people, society or environment For instance, various new channels highlight the problem regarding deteriorating air quality and at the time they promote adverts related to cigarette and tobacco. However, they do publish a warning for consumers to buy at your own risk.

To conclude, I believe mass media may have detrimental consequences on citizens lives because they overstress the master for their personal gains and even promote dangerous products for the extra income.