News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.What is your opinion about this?

In today's world, Television and newspapers are publishing more images to cover news stories. Many people believe including pictures have more impact than words, while others disagree. I agree with the former notion.

Firstly, Most of the people get the gist of the story through pictures, as they do not have time to read it. The reason is simple, they are working and occupied with a lot of activities in daily routine, As a result, they prefer to just read the headline and see pictures to understand it. For instance, most of them go through the newspaper while commuting to office and scroll all of it by just having a look on images with their headings. Thus having a picture is more beneficial for them due to lack of time. Similarly, It becomes easy for them to filter out the news stories they are interested in, for example, for many people, a story showing a picture of miss world is more like-able than it having an image of violent elements, consequently, pictures help in saving time.

Moreover, as it is well-known fact, a picture speaks more than a word, having a photo of a criminal on TV helps people to make themselves aware of the face and can inform the police if seen nearby, For example, one of the most wanted criminals in London was convicted by police when a lady called 911 seeing him near her house. As a result, number of criminals getting caught has increased tremendously due to their published picture. In Addition, it is true that we can feel more emotions by watching rather than reading, Like, seeing women saving a dog image has more impact than written about it or footballers image is more convincing than dancers'. Hence, picture effects human more than words.

To conclude, having images in TV and newspaper for new stories is more influential than just publishing long text about it, However, the publisher should keep in mind to avoid using pictures causing any dispute.