News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this.

Most news reporters and TV talk shows prefer to demonstrate the news with photos of the incidents. I totally believe that a picture can say millions of words, it is considered a strong and important prove of the news being reported.

A picture usually captures the eyes of a newspaper reader, making him keen and curios to read what this picture reveals and what are the causes of it being caught on camera. Although an individual can buy the newspaper and scan it quickly with his eyes to get a summary of the news, missing a lot of important feeds, a photo for a train in flames would make him wonder what is behind this dramatic accident, resulting in making him read the whole page with the aim of understanding what exactly happened, instead of only going through it carelessly.

Although the idea of a reporter reading the news was never interesting and ought to make one change the channel, a photo that is shown on the TV screen for a certain incident is enough to make a viewer turn the volume up to understand what this photo resembles. The same thing is applied when a person is switching between the channels and then for instance, runs through a devastating photo of a young girl’s picture, dead. This photo in return will grab the attention of the viewer and will lead him to follow the news and updates for what happened in the girl’s case.

In conclusion, a person can be touched and affected by photos in the news more than words being said, hence, making him follow the news and looking for updates. This is in fact is the main goal of the news, to be followed.