Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past, advancements in medicine were made using the 'trial and error' method on living and diseased humans. However, in recent times, testing on livestock has resulted in new and improved methodologies in medicine. A significant part of the populous believes that trials run on living organisms is unethical. The rest of the population thinks that medical marvels are a justifiable reason to continue conducting these experiments.

On one hand, some people are of the opinion that experimentation on living is morally wrong. Furthermore, they empathize with animals and are unwilling to allow such cruel and invasive tests to be conducted on them regardless of the benefits to humanity. They think that torturing livestock is too high a price to pay for advancements in medicine. Thus, they believe banning such experiments and trials is the logical and ethical step to take.

On the other hand, other people think that if animal testing is banned, medicine will stagnate and humanity might not be able to prevent and cure many diseases. Animal testing, according to them is a necessary evil and must be continued as it is the best possible research methodology available today. For example, without rigorous animal trials, mankind would not have cured dangerous diseases like Measles, Diptheria and Malaria.

In my opinion, experimenting on animals in labs has to occur for humans to live a disease free life. Furthermore, viruses constantly mutate and adapt to new medicine. This creates stronger versions of resistant viruses. Scientists are expected to provide a cure and treatment for the same. This would be incredibly difficult and time-consuming without animal testing and a lot of human lives could be lost in the process.

In conclusion, justifications to both sides of this issue are fair and justified. The fact that no better alternative exists to be able to completely ban animal experimentation, we must continue the trials. However, I believe the governing bodies from all around the world should actively research new methodologies to replace animal testing altogether.