Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

It can be seen that young generation is spending most of their time playing virtual games instead of playing outdoor sports. The plausible reasons for this maneuver are modernisation as well as urbanisation. Furthermore, it is a negative development because it hinders adolescence’s overall development.

To commence with, there is less space available for the playgrounds in modern towns. This is because, as the population is increasing incessantly, land, which were previously allocated for public parks, are used for making houses and business complexes. Consequently, children are compelled to play computer games. Secondary reason is that both the parents are bread-earners in this competitive environment. As a result, they are not able to devote suffice time to their descendants and allow them to play computer games. Therefore, lack of playgrounds and hectic schedule of parents could be the reasons due to which children are spending most of their time to play video games.

This is a negative development because neither cognitive skills nor pragmatic skills are acquired by playing virtual games. In other words, when children are playing outside, it helps them to imbibe different traits such as leadership skills, team spirit and many more. However, playing computer games make them aggressive and isolated from society which is not desirable. To exemplify, a survey in Times of India showed a major increment in aggressiveness in today’s generation as compared to earlier generation. Thus, by considering above mentioned factors, I could say that this is a negative development.

In conclusion, scarcity of land as well as busy schedule of parents are pivotal reasons that modern generation spend most of their time playing virtual games. Additionally, obstruction to nurture essential life skills and aggression are two cardinal reasons to conclude it as a negative development. Furthermore, it is recommended that government should take initiatives in order to encourage children to play outdoor sports.