Nowadays many historic buildings receive lack of preservation treatment, with some buildings being damaged or even destroyed. Why is this happening? What can be done to change this situation?

It has been observed that most buildings of historic importance are not well protected these days, due to which some are defaced while others are completely destroyed. In my opinion, this is happening because of meager budgets allocated by the government for the archeological department and also a lack of awareness in people about these national assets. A number of measures can be taken to improve the condition of historic sites.

Firstly, in a developing country like Pakistan, where the government does not have enough resources to provide for health and education, archeology is one of the least concerned departments and receives little money from the government. Deprived of sufficient resources, officials of the archeology department are unable to restore the historic buildings. Furthermore, people living near most historic sites are also not well aware of the importance of these archeological remains, due to which sometimes people tend to vandalize these sites. For example, Rohtas Fort in Jehlum is damaged by the actions of local villagers. Both of these problems are major causes of damage happening to historic buildings.

To solve these issues, the government will have to raise the budgets of departments looking after the historic sites. The department of archeology should also start a marketing campaign to promote archeological sites and earn revenue from tourism, which can be spent on the restoration of these sites. Moreover, the government should conduct awareness programs for local people. If people are versed with the importance of historic buildings, they will tend not to vandalize these places. Take the example of Europe, where even the castles of little historic importance are well protected because people are aware of their importance. Resources to preserve damaged sites and education of people are keys to the solution.

In conclusion, due to the lack of money and awareness, we are losing the buildings of historic importance, which are our national assets. This problem can only be solved if the government and society act together to raise budgets and awareness.