The fast food industry has negative effects on our health, the environment and family eating habits.

Do you agree or disagree?

Restaurants chains serving ready meals, for instance burgers and pizzas, are expanding quite fast, lately, and it is generally believed that such food is causing environmental and health challenges, as well as influencing our dietary habits, adversely. I am a proponent of the notion that junk food has a lot of harmful effects on our climate and health, but I do not support the idea that it is changing our dietary habits, badly.

Firstly, most of the burgers and pizzas are cooked by using huge quantities of oils for frying meat. While, intake of deep-fried meat and cheese may result into increased cholesterol levels, which is considered as the start of cardiovascular diseases, such as hypertension and cardiac failure. Moreover, taking too much fried chicken and beef, which is most commonly used in fast food, can cause obesity. So excessive consumption of junk food, definitely, leads to health issues.

Secondly, to fulfill the demand of meat for fast food industry, livestock farm owners have to produce more chickens, and cows. Which means more livestock waste in the form of animal dung. Furthermore, consumption of meat has been linked with release of high amounts of carbon dioxide, which has harmful effects on our environment, for example, climate change and global warming. That means, eating too much fast food is also linked with climate change.

However, when it comes to dietary habits of a family, I do not believe that consumption of junk food has any effect on it, because a burger meal is also served by a restaurant just like traditional cuisine. Before the era of burger and pizza chains, families used to visit conventional food restaurants, like now they go to fast food chains, as youngsters and elderly both enjoy this food alike and it is also evident from family deals served by many junk food restaurants.

To sum up, I support the idea that foods like burgers and pizzas are affecting or fitness and environment, harmfully, but I do not agree with argument that it is also changing dietary habits of families, adversely.