Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that only the professionals, who have long standing commitments with their organization, should be promoted to top positions. I fully support this stance since staff who is working in the company for years need to be rewarded for their commitment and such professionals are also aware of company rules and culture.

First of all, it is often observed that some people stay in one organization for years, serving the company and waiting for promotions. Such professionals work very hard to justify their position in the company and qualify for promotion, therefor they have a right to be promoted to top positions as a reward for their commitment. These are loyal employees of the company and rewarding them will increase the motivation level. Take the example of some multinational corporations who preferably elevate their employees through various ranks up to the top positions over the years. This culture also promote strong relations among colleagues.

Furthermore, people who have worked in the company for years are aware of rules and culture of the organization and if they are promoted to a higher position, it is easier for them to pursue the policies of the organization more effectively. According to a study conducted by a leading pharmaceutical company of Pakistan, the employees trained within the company and internally promoted are more efficient in implementing company policies than the ones hired from other organizations.

In conclusion, owing to the fact that internal promotion is a way to reward the loyal staff and can help to pursue the company policies more effectively and efficiently, I strongly support the idea that companies should only promote their long time employees to higher positions.