Nowadays, many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children playing computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

The enormous growth in the use of the Internet over the last decade has led to radical changes to the way that young people consume and share information. Therefore, there exist many teenagers addicting to the Internet dramatically. This essay will first suggest that the most serious problems caused by this phenomenon are children’s access to dangerous content and online crimes, and then argue that adequate legislation, access restriction, and IT security improvement.

One of the first problems of widespread access to computers is that websites with potentially harmful information are easily accessible to children. Indeed, smart devices are within their reach. For example, pornography sites are easily accessible to them because they can register with a site and claim to be an adult. Therefore, there is no doubt that this would affect their thoughts and developments, which negatively impacts the children and society.

Furthermore, another major problem is the growth of online fraud and hacking. In particular, there exist horrific online crimes such as credit card hacking, trafficking online, and online sexual harassment. For instance, these days, there are constant news stories about government and company websites that have been hacked. These hacking activities result in the loss of confidential information falling into the hands of criminals. As a result, sensitive private information must be kept protected from lawbreakers.

It is utterly important that action is taken to combat these problems. Governments should ensure that adequate legislation and controls for young people should be proposed. They can do this by building more complex website access criteria. Furthermore, parents also have a part to play. They need to monitor children and restrict access by setting passwords, controlling the time of using computers, or checking the content of the website regularly. Last but not least, companies must also improve IT security systems by reviewing current systems for weaknesses. These actions must be done immediately to reduce the consequences of youngsters’ addiction to the Internet and online crimes.

The Internet is an amazing technological innovation that has transformed people’s lives, but not without negative impacts. The two most obvious impacts are teenagers’ obsession with the cyber world and online crimes, which may have consequences on their overall development and society. Therefore, governments, parents, and companies need to tackle these problems by following my advice above.