Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs.

What problems does this cause?

What are some possible solutions?

At present, many aged persons have to face severe competition by young generation to get a job. The primary problem of this phenomenon is that old people are getting lesser jobs and the most viable solution is that governments should reduce retirement age and provide the pension.

The most obvious problem associated with this situation is that aged generation is not able to get a job. This is to say that old people do not have updated qualification which could have made them a desired candidate. Therefore, they are not able to cope up with the financial needs and end up under huge debts. The result of this is old people are under pressure and even take jobs that are out of their professional forte. For example, a recent government survey revealed that 72% of the older people lost their jobs because the same position was offered to a younger person.

A long term solution to this predicament is that the government should reduce the retirement age and provide good pension plan. This would result in aged resources to vacant their current positions and avail the pension scheme. This will allow old generation to live their future life without financial burden. Furthermore, the vacant position could be allocated to the younger people. For instance, recently government of India launched a scheme of voluntary retirement with double pension plan so that retired people are not at financial loss and vacant jobs can be provided to the recent graduates.

In conclusion, elder people often get tough competition from youngsters to get a job resulting in lesser opportunities for older candidates, however it can be addressed through providing early retirement option and better pension plans by the government.