In many countries, as people are earning more these days, they are also spending money in buying more and more items. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As per the recent media report, the average per capita income of people had doubled in last 5 years. Thus, people are purchasing more products because they being paid more than in the past. I believe it is a positive progression because of numerous benefits to the nation and its people.

The main reason to agree that purchasing more products of beneficial because it aids to the country's economic growth. This is because when people spend money then their money is circulated back into the market, which is vital for the smooth functioning of the economy of a country. Additionally, the sales taxes, which are paid by the consumer at the time of purchase, flourish country's funds. For instance, as per the recent report by Harvard Business School, UK's economy is stronger than USA, from last 30 years, because citizen of UK spends more and citizens of USA do more savings.

Furthermore, on an individual level, by spending more, people are more happy and satisfied in their lives. This is because with more purchasing capabilities, people can not afford to buy more luxurious products to lead a comfortable life. As a result, people feel more contended with their improved living style because they can buy any product as per their needs. For instance, as per the happiness survey done by Times magazine, people of Canada stood first in the ranking. This is because they have high per capita and they can easily afford affluent lifestyle.

To conclude, people are getting more salaries and they are purchasing more products than ever before. I believe this is a pragmatic shift because it increases nation's economic growth and people can lead a happy lifestyle.